• publish: 13 October 2015
  • time: 10:34 am
  • category: Politics
  • No: 1683

New five police chiefs appointed for five provinces

Five new provincial police chiefs have been appointed, a statement released by the Presidential Palace ‘ARG’ on Monday states.

According to the statement, Brigadier General Abdul Qayoum Baqizoy has been appointed as the police chief for Sar-e-Pul province, General Matiullah Safi for Laghman, Brigadier General Aminullah Amarkhil for Ghazni, Brigadier General Abdul Rawouf Taj for Badghis and Colonel Ikramuddin for Nooristan province.

The new police chiefs were introduced to President Mohammad Ashraf Ghani by the Interior Minister Noor-ul-haq Olomi late on Monday evening.

About six months ago, new police chiefs were appointed for eight provinces.

Among them was Hakim Angar for Ghazni and Khalilullah Ziayee for Nooristan province.

It is yet unknown why they are being replaced after six months but Ghazni province has been facing intense threat by Taliban.

Taliban planned to storm Ghazni’s provincial capital on Monday but security forces suppressed their attack.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *