• publish: 16 May 2019
  • time: 12:58 pm
  • category: Politics
  • No: 8308

New MPs hold session to elect house speaker

New MPs in the Wolesi jirga, the Lower House of the Parliament, held a special session on Thursday to elect the House Speaker and the administrative board.

Four MPs, including Omar Nasir Mujaddedi, Kamal Naser Osuli, Mirwais Yasini and Mir Rahman Rahmani have nominated themselves for the post. 

On Wednesday, the new MPs of Kabul and Paktia provinces – whose results were announced months after other provinces – took the oath at a ceremony in the Presidential Palace which completed curriculum

Speaking at the ceremony, President Ashraf Ghani sharply criticized the former electoral bodies over delay in announcing results of the elections and said it was a crisis in its nature. 

“Unfortunately, it was a ‘mess’. Having the results of the elections delayed for seven months was unprecedented in the democratic systems,” Ghani said.

Ghani said government remained neutral on the elections process and that he hopes it has been proved to the people. 

The Independent Election Commission announced Kabul parliamentary elections results on Tuesday midnight. 

Based on the election commission’s announcement, 33 candidates have gained the highest votes and have been elected as MPs.  

Officials from the election commission said carrying out more assessments on Kabul elections results was the main reason for the delay.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *